Why sites don’t work in certain browsers

About a year ago, I wrote about some of the reasons why sites may break Opera, or vice versa. It is not uncommon for alternative browsers to have such problems, and now even Microsoft is feeling the heat with IE7.

When even Microsoft faces these kinds of problems with an update like IE7, I think people will understand how hard it is to make a browser work with all sites. This is especially true when most sites that don't work seem to go out of their way to send Opera broken code…

David, our Web Opener, has written an interesting blog post on why Web sites don't work in various browsers. It's definitely worth a read if you are interested in learning more about Web site compatibility:

7 thoughts on “Why sites don’t work in certain browsers

  1. I personally never had a problem getting my site to work with Opera.It's Ie v6 which gives nitemares.Btw, Havard currently Gmail's chat function doesnt work with Opera.How soon can we expect that to be fixed?

  2. Open the Web is one of the forums is learn most from, and I find it both interesting and entertaining. I guess in 10 years I'll be one of the few people who will feel nostalgic for the times when not every website was displayed correctly in Opera. 😆

  3. Thanks haavard for the directing me to David's blog as it fully explained the 'whole picture' sort to speak…A definite must read…:)

  4. What the $%#$ !So gmail is sniffing out Opera. Whenever i see something wrong with Microsoft's webpages I try changing the ua.But never though about doing that with google.Really, this is pretty sick on Google's part.

  5. Why is it so hard to write cross browser compliant?Back when I was a professional web coder it wasn't that I found it hard to do, it was that I found it hard to get staff willing to do it or even competant enough to write for one, let alone many, browsers.Sure, that was 5 years ago, but everytime I brought in an assistant I'd get people who, by owning a copy of Dreamweaver, claimed they were professionals on their resumes.Back when I worked in the industry, my attitude was to code for W3C, and then actually open my work in every browser I had access to, on Max and PC, and go over the results with the graphic designer. If I ever sent 'special code' to a particular browser it was only because I first found an actual problem and then made and tested code that fixed it.This attitude however, is somewhat rare, as most of those I would hire to assist on larger projects, or worked with when I was the assistant, just wanted to use the 'code generator of the day' to do the cross-browser fixing, and themselves only code in IE or Netscape.The closer browsers get to W3C standards, the easier it should be to cross-code. But when you have so many people coding in 'assembly farms' or with auto coding tools, they miss the obvious and never look back. Further, for some time one could 'safely' get away with not bothering to meet the needs of anything but IE. Netscape was dead, Mac was near dead, and IE had the bulk of the market. Now Firefox has a notable share, and Apple is still alive (and if you look on any college campus you will realize that if you want to reach the youth market you better be viewable in OSX-Safari).Maybe you can still ignore Opera. But if it is easy enough to meet it, and if has potential to grow, making that assumption on a large project could just cost you down the road when you need to revise…

Comments are closed.