Why the Nintendo DSi browser doesn’t support Flash

The DSi browser is out in Japan, and I have seen quite a few disappointed comments on the lack of Flash support. It would have been great for videos on the go, but one needs to keep the technical specifications of the DSi in mind, which seem to be below even the Flash Lite system requirements.

In addidion to that, Nintendo is Opera Software's customer, and that means that Nintendo calls the shots. If the DSi had been powerful enough to support Flash Lite, it would have been up to Nintendo whether to include it or not.

122 thoughts on “Why the Nintendo DSi browser doesn’t support Flash

  1. I will go there. Can you write how you type in web links and make so you can click it and go there.

  2. I looked at the system requirments and I saw that the problem is that the dsi is not fast enough it runs at 133mhz not 200mhz it has enough ram but that's the only problem but I'm sure that they can make a version of flash that the dsi can run.

  3. If the dsi ran at 200mhz it would drain the battery faster. Then you will be more angry but maybe a bigger battery will help.

  4. You know what!? We don't have to tell Nintendo. Another thing is to contact Adobe and ask if they can make a version of flash player that will run a 133mhz and 16mb of ram because that's what the dsi runs at and no other flash player will work with it's browser and all I mean ALL OF US WANT IT.

  5. Originally posted by billsofat:

    can make a version of flash player that will run a 133mhz and 16mb of ram

    There is already a new DS coming out soon and it might have better specs tho the issue with having flash player is it has to be keep updated

  6. If you look back at Anonymous comments he said they could make a ram card foe the sd card slot no not even the ds card slot because the ds card slot is made for games not ram same with the sd slot. Speaking of anonymous it's getting kinda lonely with out him commenting why isn't he?

  7. I don't know I even looked it up when I saw you asked that and I couldn't find a simple website that told you. can you please try looking I looked and nothing was simple and easy to find out your turn please. Oh you never answered my question why Anonymous isn't coomenting

  8. Originally posted by billsofat:

    I don't know I even looked it up when I saw you asked that and I couldn't find a simple website that told you

    I think the SD card thing was either mentioned in a form or in the comments earlier Originally posted by billsofat:

    Oh you never answered my question why Anonymous isn't coomenting

    I could not tell you why

  9. Originally posted by Charles Schloss:"I think MyO auto picks up the url, tho it on a site is the hyper link tag is used" it sometimes doesn't work for me.

  10. Here is the answer to the dsi browser not having flash. Ready?321The dsi isn't fast enough.

Comments are closed.