MultiTorg Opera 1.0 Beta 1

I was just cleaning up some of my old files, and came across this picture:


The picture itself is actually "just" seven years old according to the time stamp, and the floppy probably appeared as we were cleaning out some old offices.

The sticker says:

1. Start Windows
2. Choose File/Run
3. Type: A:setup

At the bottom right there you can see the old Telenor logo, and I think it says "research". Opera started out as a research project at Telenor Research.

I used to have a copy of the (MultiTorg) Opera 1.0 beta, but I'm not sure where it is now… It probably doesn't work very well on modern versions of Windows anyway.

So yeah, Opera really did fit on a floppy back then, and for a couple of more versions. However, supporting all these open Web standards does add some weight to modern browsers. It would probably be difficult to fit a fully working browser onto a floppy today.

Good thing floppies are history, then 🙂

29 thoughts on “MultiTorg Opera 1.0 Beta 1

  1. Bah, you had got my hopes up. For a moment I thought that Opera Soft has finally decided to publicly release MultiTorg.

  2. Originally posted by Indyan:

    Bah, you had got my hopes up. For a moment I thought that Opera Soft has finally decided to publicly release MultiTorg.

    Me too 😦

  3. Originally posted by Arnt:

    Bah, you had got my hopes up. For a moment I thought that Opera Soft has finally decided to publicly release MultiTorg.

    +1 🙂

  4. Here's a picture of boxed version of Opera 7.50 PL:Well, it was a fake prepared for April 1st, 2004 😀

  5. My first touch with Opera was 3.6-something (or was it 3.5?). So couple of months ago, out of boredom and nostalgia, I downloaded it and started browsing around. The results were quite hilarious. Let's just say, http://www.opera.com wasn't looking that good in 10-years old browser 😛 microsoft.com refused to load, and google.com was fine (at least the start page).

  6. I tried to use Opera 8.6 (first release not supported by ads) at office because of how much memory Opera 10.50 is using and because 10.50 is not loading (except from cache) a page that is supposed to refresh itself.My initial delight at how little memory 8.60 uses died down after I noticed some of the features that I have learned to not live without did not exist. At office can live without SVG support, Unite, Canvas, CSS 3, Ajax … but not without Speeddial, and the ability to pin (lock) a tab 😀

  7. I think it would be cool if someone could find this piece of history from somewhere. It might work in a Virtual Machine :Dps. haavard you probably should boldify or something the text which explains that it's just a photo… People don't seem to realize that you don't actually have the disk anymore 😉

  8. I tried version 1 a few years back. Couldn't connect to anything. Guess it doesn't support current http version or something

  9. Apparently it means square.AFAIK the early versions of Opera did not have tabs, they simply tiled the windows (multiple squares->multitorg)

Comments are closed.