Tip: Real-time tab filtering in Opera

If you have a lot of open tabs in Opera, you may want to group them, but another time-saver is the search field in the Windows panel, which filters tabs in real-time.

With too many tabs it can be difficult to identify them, but if you know the title or URL, you can simply start typing in the search field in the Windows panel. Any tab which does not match what you type will be hidden, so you will end up with only the tabs you need.

I use this particular feature all the time, and it really does save me a lot of time when I know what I'm looking for.

23 thoughts on “Tip: Real-time tab filtering in Opera

  1. Would be nice if you told us/them the keyboard shortcut that opens the windows panel and focuses the search field. I can't check at the moment.It seems Opera has been moving away from handling large numbers of tabs that would make search most valuable. In Win x64, it has turned into a bit of a nightmare. OOM is the name of that game unfortunately.

  2. Nice feature!And is there a shortcut to activate this search? Or something like Alt + F2 of KDE? As I usually don't keep the panels open, to save space for pages, it would be nice a shortcut.

  3. I was thinking and concluded that would be nice if the pop-up window that opens when you hold ctrl + tab had a search field. Of course, another shortcut would be chosen, as ctrl + tab presumes that you will actually change the active tab.And F4 is the shortcut that opens the panel, but it doesn't focus the panel.

  4. … I just finished writing my comment here, and I said that I play a little more with the keyboard shortcuts, and… Opera crashed… 😦 And the Crash log submission said that "Our experience with this crash is that it most commonly is caused by the plugin vksaver. Uninstalling this plugin resolves these crashes. If you have any further information, you may let us know.", but I don't have that plugin installed, I just checked, I never even heard of it.Ok, now I have to write my comment again, here I go (no more playing with the keyboard shortcuts this time):@EdersonIf you go to Preferences (Ctrl + F12) > Advanced > Shorcuts, in the Keyboard set-up select Opera Standard, click Edit, and in the Quick find box type "focus", you will see that there's a preset keyboard shortcut for focusing the Windows panel, it's Ctrl + Shift + 0… Errr, but it's not really working for me, maybe it's a bug 😕 … But the shortcuts for the other panels are working, but also in a kinda buggy way, for instance if I press Ctrl + Shift + 9, Opera opens the Links panel, if I press them again, Opera hides the panel, but if I press them once again, the panel never shows up… :(So, there is a keyboard shortcut for focusing the Windows panel, but it's not quite working, or at least not for me… :(Is it working for you?PS: Haha, I just pressed "Post comment" and it said "503 Service unavailable"… thankfully Opera is clever enough and remembered what I typed, a good news at least. 😀

  5. Originally posted by fearphage:

    It seems Opera has been moving away from handling large numbers of tabs that would make search most valuable. In Win x64, it has turned into a bit of a nightmare. OOM is the name of that game unfortunately.

    I have as many tabs open as I've always had, and I haven't noticed any recent problems with that.

  6. Originally posted by Haavard:

    I have as many tabs open as I've always had, and I haven't noticed any recent problems with that.

    That's pretty vague. Your average tab count is 10? 20? More details could make that statement valid and useful or utterly meaningless in my use case.I used to hover effortlessly in the 200-300 tabs range. Due to Opera's changes (erm… regressions?) I've been downgraded to hover in the 100-150 range iassuming I actually want to use Opera for any period of time and have it remotely stable. More tabs means a faster path to OOM which gets me erratic behavior and lots of instability.

  7. I also use many tabs all the time. In 3 windows at the moment. I would like to use more windows for "real grouping", but I don't want to clutter my taskbar, besides it causes troubles when switching between Opera and other apps. Solution to this would be an option to hide window – something like session in windows panel. Not only "hide" hide, but close, free memory etc. Access to session is too inconvenient IMHO. There is an interesting idea on forums: http://my.opera.com/community/forums/topic.dml?id=705112 I'm not all for it, but its quite innovative.Maybe you should consider to merge sessions and windows management into one panel??Then maybe "label" windows – like work, funny, for later, to read etc… Yeah, labels – you should improve M2 (btw. where is M2 team blog, huh??) – users should be able to customize labels more (icon, color, name, and far beyond 7). Those labels could be used to mark sessions/window sets/windows/tabs??

  8. Use 2-3 separate Operas, and you 'll be fine ;)And yes, i think 10.x branch cannot handle as much tabs as 9.x used to, but maybe its because the average web-sites had became much more cpu/memory intensive.

  9. Did not noticed it, have not hit 150 in a while tho I try to organize the tabs in to windows based on tab content

  10. fearphage: I have well over 100 tabs open at the moment. But this is very off-topic, so let's end the discussion here.

  11. @random414 The shortcut doesn't work as well. But I changed the keys to ctrl + f2, and it worked! But the way that focus works is not so simple: it is in the search field the first time you use it, but I can't just type enter to go to selected tab, I need to type tab to change the focus from search field to list, and then, when I try to use again the panel, focus is on list, and I need to type shift + tab to focus the search field.

  12. It would be interesting if this could be integrated into the address bar search.Originally posted by haavard:

    fearphage: I have well over 100 tabs open at the moment. But this is very off-topic, so let's end the discussion here.

    He is right, but I think Opera made a trade off, memory footprint vs speed. I can't complain we needed the speed boost.Haavard has Opera updated the version of Zlib to the more recent versions?In the opera:about page it lists the Copyright date as 1995-2004, but it was updated twice this year.

  13. fearphage: Opera 10.62, Atom N280-based netbook with 2GB and WinXP. I was between 250 and 300 tabs just a couple days ago.it'd be kind've awesome if a person could search/select tabs from main UI, but it's plenty great for collecting and sorting at the end of a session.

  14. Originally posted by Cutting Spoon:

    fearphage: Opera 10.62, Atom N280-based netbook with 2GB and WinXP. I was between 250 and 300 tabs just a couple days ago.

    Amazing! I get Out Of Memory errors on XP64 and WIN7-64 and opera just goes nuts at that point. Totally undefined and unexpected behavior from crashing to redraw bugs to not saving files anymore.Originally posted by Cutting Spoon:

    it'd be kind've awesome if a person could search/select tabs from main UI, but it's plenty great for collecting and sorting at the end of a session.

    Windows Panel says hello:

  15. Well, sometimes Opera can no longer save bookmarks.adr or the Notes panel when more than 200 tabs are open…but it usually works. And I don't lose any progress if I manually save at session's end, just to be sure. I just threw up a screenshot of today's browsing load, in response to Dillon. May as well put the link here, too.http://my.opera.com/hellspork/albums/showpic.dml?album=875612&picture=70448572As you can see I've still got close to 500MB RAM and 500MB pagefile still open.

  16. For comparison:http://my.opera.com/Astrophizz/albums/showpic.dml?album=4670012&picture=70563052Notice 5 tabs and 63 MB of RAM free in the system with opera using 419 MB of 1 GB total. Likewise the page file is 2.5 GB and Opera is using 956 MB. In a regular session I often have ~15 tabs but then Opera uses ~500 MB of RAM and 1.2+ GB of VM. Going beyond that I being to have the issues fearphage describes with random behavior, images not drawing, pages not loading, etc and other programs begin crashing. If I tried to run more than 50 tabs for more than a few hours I think my computer would die.

  17. Huh. Maybe there are still leaks in the Post-XP versions of Windows. But as stated, got past 50 tabs while setting up my sister's PC with Win7 Starter and 1GB mem.

Comments are closed.