My Opera Mail has arrived

When Opera Web Mail was in the process of being migrated from IBM to our servers, I briefly mentioned a new webmail service where you would be able to use your My Opera username and password to log in.

Today, the new service was unveiled.

Named My Opera Mail, it gives you a free @myopera.com e-mail address, 1 GB of storage (as a start), and allows you to log in at mail.opera.com with your regular My Opera username.

Keep in mind that the service is still in beta, but you already get full access to IMAP (incoming) and SMTP (outgoing) if you want to use it from your e-mail client (such as the one that's build into Opera for desktop).

Best of all: It's completely free!

Log in to the service right now, and then head over to the Mail Team blog to learn more and share your feedback!

42 thoughts on “My Opera Mail has arrived

  1. But the user interface is really beautiful! If it had more space I'd immediately use it As 1GB is quite enough I made the switch from GMail! 🙂

  2. :hat:. I like this. :up:.:sst:. I hope the spambots don't catch on that the address is easily deduced from our usernames though. :insane:.

  3. I don't get it. :awww: I had to change my username from p.mansoor to pman45.I can send an email to my regular email address. :up: But what is my email address here at Opera? :confused: Please fill in the blanks so I can try it out. 😥 pman45@……………………:doh:

  4. Originally posted by qlue:

    I hope the spambots don't catch on that the address is easily deduced from our usernames though. .

    I am a little concerned about this to. If I where a spammer I think I could make a script to scrape lots of valid email addresses from the usernames and url's here on my.opera.com.I am going to add this to M2 and try it out for a while. But if I get spam in my inbox, it is out.After all, thats the main reason I started using Gmail.

  5. Originally posted by Sn3ipen:

    Originally posted by qlue:

    I hope the spambots don't catch on that the address is easily deduced from our usernames though. .

    I am a little concerned about this to. If I where a spammer I think I could make a script to scrape lots of valid email addresses from the usernames and url's here on my.opera.com.

    Good question.

    I just a little look and I must say it looks good.:up: I have feature request already: a preview pane.

  6. Looks good to me. I suppose ID scraping will be a definite concern, though several other possible site improvements would mitigate that anyway. Still, a "visible email address" setting may be a good idea.EDIT: And this is in addition to the 2GB MyOpera file storage? Wow.

  7. EDIT: And this is in addition to the 2GB MyOpera file storage? Wow.

    You are right! That is a good offer. 🙂

  8. Looks like everything went O.K. last night after I changed my username. I got my Russian spam and ….. (wait for it)…. my first "My dear friend" from Yahoo. :p Thank God that Tamil had something better to offer. :yes: This afternoon was a different matter altogether. :eyes: After I had finished doing other work I had to do using the IE browser, I stopped by my blog only to find that all my pictures were missing. 😥 So …. I had to edit every line from p.mansoor into (you guessed it) pman45. :left: :right: I hope that nobody has to do the same thing. 😀

  9. This issue needs to be automated if possible.EDIT: Facebook avoids this by assigning numbers to the profile, and keeping the name elsewhere.

  10. Originally posted by hellspork:

    EDIT: Facebook avoids this by assigning numbers to the profile, and keeping the name elsewhere.

    No it depends if a user have chosen a username or not. If The user have a username, it will use the username. If not it will use numbers. Try to hover some of your friends and you can see who have a username and which one doesn't.

  11. I wish. Currently you sit and wait, then maybe there's an error message. I think the new partial FileAPI support will be used to check files before uploading them.

  12. Just found this after looking up "My Opera Mail" and it actually looks very clean.It definitely looks nice even with the "High Contrast (W/B)" stylesheet (albeit modified to make the textboxes/textareas appear with white-on-blue background) and very responsive too.Once it goes out of beta I may consider moving.

  13. > HaavardI just signed up to My Opera to try out this new email service. (I've been looking for a Gmail alternative for a long time. It's looking very good so far!) I would like to know one thing. You wrote on the previous blog post:Originally posted by haavard:

    Until now, Opera Web Mail has been hosted by various external companies. The most recent hosting provider was IBM, after they acquired Outblaze, which hosted Opera Web Mail at the time.The problem with external providers is that they don't necessarily have your service as the #1 priority, and there are limitations to what you can do with the service if you don't have full access to it.

    I'm curious to know who hosts this new "My Opera Mail" and how it is maintained. As far as I can see, it operates independently from FastMail. Does this imply that Opera is once again relying on an external provider for "My Opera Mail"?Hope you can let me know! 😀

  14. Opera is doing the new mail internally. It uses their data centers, their storage, their authentication server, everything. The operamail.com thing is now operated by Fastmail for now, which is a wholly owned subsidiary but not directly part of the Opera data network. So both services are owned and operated by Opera, but in different ways.

  15. Still, in Beta it's much better than it used to be, with outblaze. Of course the devs haven't got ahold of it yet.

  16. Which is baically the gist of my statement. Even in Beta, it's much better than it used to be, with Outblaze. It's way more stable than the old v. used to be. I've been using it since before it was in Beta.

  17. Originally posted by H82typ:

    much better than it used to be, with outblaze.

    The operamail.com addresses still exist and still work, but they are now powered by the subsidiary Fastmail. This new mail which is in beta, is a completely different animal.

  18. From what I can gather at this stage, there seems to be a worry that our email address is publicly available for anyone to see (since it is identical to our My Opera account name). Of course the possible repercussion of this is that we may become an easy target for spammers. At least this was one of the worries that was raised over at the Mail Team Blog.I'm quite skeptical that a spam filter would be sufficient to prevent such a consequence from happening. Hopefully the Mail Team will allow customized user names for My Opera Mail which would not be publicly identifiable.

  19. Originally posted by H82typ:

    Even in Beta, it's much better than it used to be, with Outblaze.

    operamail.com is somewhat improved since they switched from Outblaze to Fastmail backend. MyOpera Mail Beta is unrelated, much larger and completely free. Apparently with no outside ads. But everyone can identify your email address, so there are risks. Two completely different animals.

  20. :confused: Ok, I'll cross the spam bridge if and when it becomes an issue. I was using fastmail before it became operamail, so… Other than larger storage, I don't see an appreciable difference between the two.

  21. I am very proud of Opera finally offering email that is reasonable by today's standards! 😀

  22. Atlast!!!!Happy to know the service is again started by opera. The user interface is simple and very efficient. So beautiful! for a start 1 GB is good, but i believe we will get more storage.A few suggestions1. Keep the interface and menus simple and easy. (its already simple to keep them like that)2. Pls keep privacy issues in mind.3. Online Antivirus for downloading attachments.for a start so much is better. Opera keeps better and better just like the browses it offers. so no qualms here as we know the best is yet to come!Thank you very much

Comments are closed.