Do you use several sets of custom keyboard shortcuts in Opera?

A few days ago, I asked on Twitter whether people are actually switching between multiple keyboard setups in Opera, or if just having one set available with overrides for specific shortcuts would be sufficient.

I got quite a few replies, but it's difficult to get a proper overview and discussion going between multiple people. To perhaps get a better discussion going, I thought I would move the discussion to my blog instead.

I would really like to know what the uses cases are, if any, for being able to switch between two or more custom keyboard setups. Personally I use the "Opera 9.2 Compatible" shortcuts with some customization, and of course with single-key shortcuts enabled. I never really needed the ability to switch between multiple setups.

I also added a poll to the right to get a quick overview of the numbers.

Any thoughts?

39 thoughts on “Do you use several sets of custom keyboard shortcuts in Opera?

  1. I'm still not sure, whether I understand the essence of your question.I virtually only switch between keyboard setups in order to force a re-load of an incidentally modified setup, when using a text editor (as I do most of the time) to edit and tweak it. That way I avoid a lengthy closing-reopening-cycle for the entire Opera (which takes a looong time if you happen to have sessions with 60+ tabs open all the time 😉 ).Btw, I use a slightly customized layout with single-key-shortcuts enabled: Eg re-locating keys, that are inspired more by location on a reference keyboard than the letter the key produces (eg y←→z in the case US←→DE); swapping Shift-F2 and F2 (who needs F2 if there's F8? the original Shift-F2 is the one that brings benefits!), adding a few more shortcuts (eg for Zoom to, 140% > Zoom to, 100%).

  2. I only use the 'Opera 9.2 Compatible' shortcuts, but don't use any other. Now what option is that in the poll? 🙂

  3. I always customize some keyboard shortcuts, and I never use the Opera 9.2 compatible shortcuts.I never use different sets of custom keyboard shortcuts.A new UI which would allow me to only add/remove/override the specific shortcuts I want… for the actions I want, would be sufficient. No need for the ability to add/remove custom keyboard shortcut sets, like we can do now.

  4. Originally posted by XAntares:

    I'm still not sure, whether I understand the essence of your question.

    Do you switch between several different keyboard setups, or do you only use one?That is, is there a real need to show a list of different keyboard setups for easy switching, or would it be sufficient to have just one set which can be customized with custom shortcuts (overriding specific shortcuts in the default setup)?Originally posted by sirnh1:

    I only use the 'Opera 9.2 Compatible' shortcuts, but don't use any other. Now what option is that in the poll?

    You are not using custom shortcuts.

  5. I am also a user of 9.2 compatible with some customizations and single-keys enabled. Good thing that this keyboard setup template was left in Opera when the keys were overhauled for 9.5.

  6. I'm sorry, I did misunderstand your question on twitter and answered with "several different"… but I only use one.

  7. I'm switching between the different shortcuts in extreme situations, but there are very useful. For example: there are more and more html5 game on the web (and I hope it will grow and we can forgot flash in this meaning). These games need the keyboard events, which are used by Opera's shortcuts too. If I want to play a little bit, I just change the shortcuts to my gamer shortcuts (a lot of shortcuts are deleted) and play. After the siesta I change back to my edited default shortcuts which makes browsing easier. Please, leave this option for the users. It's exist doesn't hurt anyone, but if you drop it, hurts me.

  8. Originally posted by koimark:

    Earlier I customize many things but nowadays I use just defaults. Maybe I'm getting too old 😉

    Almost the same here. I try to keep things to a very minimal set of changes.

  9. I use single-key shortcuts and some other fixes to make the desktop platforms more consistent (making the ctrl-key and the command-key on mac do the same thing for some often used shortcuts for example).I keep that config available for easy access here (it's the first link I visit when upgrading Opera):http://xn--dahlstrm-t4a.net/opera/keyboard/xplatform_keysetup.iniI don't switch between configs in Opera, I use my own config exclusively. However, I do use the shortcut dialog in Opera sometimes for comparing and adding new commands (since it has command auto-completion).

  10. I use the 9.2x compatible with some customization + single-key enabled.HTML5 games: Indeed, it's very annoying when the Opera shortcuts overrides the HTML5 game shortcuts, but this is due to the incompetent web developers, who are can't maintain some required keys for the web application.I also hate if anything maintain the all keys (for example Flash objects).Good example: Google Docs (try Ctrl+B)Bad example: Biolab Disaster (make a command for "x" or "c" shortcut)

  11. Earlier I customize many things but nowadays I use just defaults. Maybe I'm getting too old 😉

  12. I always (since 2005) use my own set of hotkeys, which is based on some other set. It contains inserting range of symbols, fast switching enconing and some «anachronistic» hotkeys, like CtrlN to open new page or CtrlD to «paste and go». And I will be very disappointed if this feature will be broken.Originally posted by Hades32:

    BUT: How would you provide presets w/o that feature?

    I`m totally agree with you.

  13. I never switch, and I don't think anybody else does.BUT: How would you provide presets w/o that feature?

  14. I only use my customized sets of Operas Standard ones for mouse and keyboard and never switch to Standard or 9.2 compatible.

  15. I actually /use/ only one setup.But I keep other setups along with it: different revisions of my personal setup and sometimes variants, as I roughly "folder/file-sync" Opera installations on different machines (with different keyboards).There are of course workarounds even without a ui-based selection possibility.

  16. Like a lot of others, I use the Opera 9.2 compatible layout + some customizations (mostly relating to feeds and mail) + single key shortcuts.I switch to this profile every time I install a new version of opera, but never switch to another one after that

  17. since opera 9.2 I use the 9.2 compatible keyboard setup without single key shortcuts. additionally I've 2 custom bindings (send mail an new private tab), that's enough (for me)

  18. Probably, I'd like to option to turn off or customize single-key shortcuts on some sites since of interfering to site functionality, e.g. key controls for a game etc.

  19. Personally I use the "Opera 9.2 Compatible" shortcuts with some customization, and of course with single-key shortcuts enabled.

    Same.I switch off single-key shortcuts only when I need to play some online HTML/JS game that in a conflict with Opera shortcuts.

  20. I use the 9.2 compat mode with a modification to make my MX Revolution mouse work.It has three zoom functions, in, out, and reset/100%. The zoom to 100% normally doesn't work.

  21. Customized 9.2 compatible …Speaking of HTML5 applications: It would be cool to be able to disable some shortcuts via the "site specific settings". E.g. Ctrl+Tab should stay enabled but all single-key shortcuts should be disabled. I also had some trouble with the "down"-key which opens the "Notes" context menu when used in an input area. This is pretty annoying when the input area is used as search field and the arrow keys are used by JS to navigate the results while the cursor remains in the input area.

  22. Originally posted by Hades32:

    I never switch, and I don't think anybody else does.

    I never switch either. In the early days I'd switch from 9.2 and standard frequently, but now I only use Opera standard.

  23. I use a complete customization, but sometimes I switch to standard or other people's customizations to see how they compare. I don't do this very often, but I do it and I'd certainly appreciate to keep the functionality around. "Only overrides" would be tedious because "just having one set available with overrides for specific shortcuts" would not be sufficient at all. How would I even neutralize shortcuts I don't like? But I wouldn't mind seeing specific overrides only as an option. For most people it'd probably work out better than a complete customization the way you basically do now whenever you customize anything.td;dr I mostly use one set, but this is a complete customization, not specific overrides only.

  24. I have one set of customizations. Unfortunately, they're slightly different on each install (three different machines), so I have trouble switching sometimes. It'd be nice if they could be shared via Link 🙂

  25. Only "enable single key shortcuts".Settings are not portable and were overwritten so many times while installing new opera (or new windows), and thus i grew tired of reconfiguring them again and again.offtopic: i use less and less shortcuts with each ui "minimization". After 9.23 (or which was it?) i stopped using Ctrl+N to open new tab. After 11.0 gestures, i stopped using "normal" mouse gestures (only using rocker getures). So, maybe, instead of trying to reduce-and-cut features – focus on adding new features ? or fixing bugs of existing ones. (*cough* auto-tab stacking *cough*)Originally posted by alternatiwe:

    I'm switching between the different shortcuts in extreme situations, but there are very useful. For example: there are more and more html5 game on the web (and I hope it will grow and we can forgot flash in this meaning). These games need the keyboard events, which are used by Opera's shortcuts too.

    +1, on the use case, yet in my case i just disable single-key-shortcuts / gestures / rocker gestures / enable right click for js.

  26. always the same setup here – 9.2 compatible + modifications + single key shortcuts enabled.

  27. Originally posted by Constantine Vesna:

    +1, on the use case, yet in my case i just disable single-key-shortcuts / gestures / rocker gestures / enable right click for js.

    Agreed, I use a lot of single key shortcuts and I sometimes switch to standard to play HTML 5 games. I'd completely forgotten about that. Per-site sets of keyboard shortcuts? Heh.

  28. 1) I have a separate setup for work-related tasks and another for hobby-related tasks, I do switch between them.2) Multi-profiling is good for people who switch input languages.3) Multi-profiling makes it easier to catch/work around regressions in the shortcut system.4) I don't want to install separate copies of Opera for each layout.*unrelated, but why isn't F5-Ctrl defaulted to "reload all"?

  29. Originally posted by Cutting Spoon:

    3) Multi-profiling makes it easier to catch/work around regressions in the shortcut system.

    Good point. During 10.50 and 10.60 I maintained a fork of my regular customizations because of some bugs.

  30. I just use the defaults. Keeping the possibility to customize it is important, but I don't think I'll ever use multiple setups.

  31. I think as long as there is some import/export feature (and you continue to provide some presets with the installation) it should be OK to just remove the feature with multiple keyboard/gesture settings.This would of course make the UI a little easier for normal users, but on the other hand, normal users don't ever go to the preferences…So I'm not sure why you want to remove the feature… Or is it for a hopefully planned redesign of the preferences? I want them in a tab you know… 😉

  32. I have custom mouse gestures and shortcuts that I think are critical to the speed with which I navigate and develop in both my personal browsing and in my daily job. Every time I move workplaces or switch computers I often install opera portable and implement my gestures/shortcuts. I find it a great and very useful feature.

  33. I use several keyboard and mouse .ini files. Mainly for testing how new shortcuts improve the workflow. I keep the old ones in case the new set is not good enough.Another thing is that I use many CSS changing gestures and shortcuts (on widescreen monitor). So I have different sets of link colors, maxwidth, etc, in other .ini files.

  34. "[..] multiple keyboard setups in Opera" – for what?.. Firefox has most of the shortcuts right, just make it standard between all browsers (Micro$oft not included, because they undermind their users; err., I just disable and firewall-block all m$ software anyway, right after install :))

Comments are closed.